The Not-Very-Comprehensive Lists of 2014

“Top 10” lists are something of an oddity for me. I prefer not to rank things I enjoy, because many times I enjoy them for their differences, not according to an objective scale. So rather, I’d like to use my three “Top 10” lists for 2014 to showcase what I’ve continued to enjoy or what I’ve discovered and appreciated, all organized in arbitrary manner. With my spiel out of the way, I present my lists for…

Movies

  1. Drive
    1. One of my favorite movies ever, for sure; it’s violence and beauty juxtaposed with an amazing visual style.
  2. Gattaca
    1. A science fiction film that tells of a powerful human story better as the future approaches.
  3. The Place Beyond the Pines
    1. A tense drama contrasting the unfortunate lives of two families.
  4. Raid 2
    1. Probably one of the best (and my favorite) martial arts films I’ve ever seen.
  5. Nightcrawler
    1. A disturbing look at late night Los Angeles.
  6. Boyhood
    1. The roller coaster (or lack thereof) that is growing up.
  7. Blue Valentine
    1. A depressing look at the realities of love.
  8. Birdman
    1. A washed-up actor takes back what he lost.
  9. Gone Girl
    1. Another disturbing film; it shows how evil humans can really be to each other.
  10. Prisoners
    1. A father and an investigator look for the former’s missing daughter and discover the truth.
MV5BMjc1OTEwNjU4N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzUzNDIwOQ@@._V1_SX640_SY720_

The Place Beyond the Pines

Music

  1. Carpenter Brut
    1. What I could only describe as amazing horror outrun.
  2. Perturbator
    1. 80s-esque electronic at its best.
  3. Mac DeMarco
    1. Great slacker, “jizz-jazz” rock.
  4. STRFKR
    1. An awesome indie-(synth-filled)-pop group.
  5. Phantogram
    1. Same as the former, with a heavier trip-hop influence.
  6. Nujabes
    1. A unique kind of hip-hop.
  7. Madvillain
    1. One of the only hip-hop artists I enjoy.
  8. Todd Terje
    1. Funky electronic music that’s great to dance to. (No Bad Days)
  9. Com Truise
    1. Yet another 80s-inspired artist. Reminds me of being in an old computer.
  10. El Huervo
    1. Daisuke is one of my most looped songs of all time.
a2385050808_10

Carpenter Brut – EP II

Video Games

  1. Fallout: New Vegas
    1. An amazing RPG that is immersive and complex.
  2. Counter-Strike: Global Offensive
    1. Competitive, classic, Counter-Strike.
  3. Team Fortress 2
    1. My favorite team-based FPS. Its cartoon-like visuals with its violence is unique in itself.
  4. Batman: Arkham City
    1. The greatest Batman game of all time.
  5. Deus Ex: Human Revolution
    1. An immersive, cyberpunk RPG rewarding freedom.
  6. Hotline Miami
    1. Top-down extreme, Drive violence with the best soundtrack to date.
  7. Killing Floor
    1. Team-based FPS focused on killing hordes and waves of zombies.
  8. System Shock 2
    1. An atmosphere-heavy horror RPG that I have yet to finish but still enjoy, nonetheless.
  9. Half-Life 2
    1. One of my favorite games of all time. Its story, atmosphere, and gameplay is the perfect package.
  10. The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings
    1. Fantasy-based RPG that is extremely detailed and riveting.
header

Fallout: New Vegas

Leave a Reply

