Veni, Vidi, Vici: Mac DeMarco

MAC DEMARCO

A post about the “jizz jazz” rocker himself. Mac DeMarco was an artist that I just started to enjoy this year, which is surprising because I did not enjoy him at all when I first gave his work a listen. However, slowly, his work grew on me as Viceroys did on him.

14682292730_cf6a7d869a_o

Photo ©2008 by NRK P3 [CC BY-NC-SA 2.0]

My friend introduced me to him in the middle of my sophomore year. I quickly searched him up to see what the fuss was about. I recall attempting to listen to his album “Salad Days” and I was put off by his seemingly discordant and jarring rock music. Somehow this year, out of curiosity, I searched him up once again, only to find myself mesmerized.

Mac’s apparent arbitrary music composition is so captivating to me because of how crazy everything is. It’s as if he threw a bunch of musics onto a couch and they manifested themselves into his songs’ different arrangements. One of my favorite songs, “Ode to Viceroy,” has an immediate calming and catchy riff that I can’t but nod and hum to. Its guitar solo near the end of the song is also one of the coolest things I’ve heard, especially when he doubles up with his guitarist in live shows. “My Kind of Woman,” another favorite of Mac’s songs off of “2,” is a classic as well. having a somber synth that plays throughout which reminds me of a hypnotist’s pendulum complimenting the smooth guitar and bass.

An instrument sounds only as nice as the artist playing them, and Mac is a great artist. I haven’t heard much rock to compare him to other artists, but his voice has a slacker vibe that makes you want to open a bottle of Coke, sit on a couch, and relax.

In addition to the “chillax” attitude Mac emanates, his songs’ lyrics have substance to them. “Ode to Viceroy” is about Mac’s love for Viceroy cigarettes. It is the kind of romance song that can be easily juxtaposed to love towards a woman of your dreams. “My Kind of Woman” is about him being content but also questioning why this amazing woman would be his, as if he was undeserving. On the flip side, Mac describes in “Robson Girl” how his love of his life ignores him while he is “loving on the sidelines.” As seen, Mac’s work can definitely hit some emotional lows if one is feeling the same way, but can also be great music to rock and have a good time to.

Mac’s music is surely reflected in how he lives. He wears simple clothing: usually a white shirt, jeans, white socks, and the same pair of red Vans for most occasions. This modest way of living is a great way to enjoy life, as you cruise through it relaxing with no worries.

Mac DeMarco is a great model of how to sit back and appreciate the small moments in life. His attitude, image, and music all come together to portray this message and I definitely recommend you to give his music a listen.

Leave a Reply

