The Power of Music

For most of my life, I’ve never been that into listening to music. That is, until the past few years. Recently, with school as tough as it is and with life as dull as it can be sometimes, music is always there to stimulate the senses and provide a means of motivation. Listening to music can provide a temporary escape from reality, a sort of “shelter,” so to speak. As we travel in our own minds from dimension to dimension, we lose track of what is actually in front of us.

The other day, I was watching a video on YouTube, when I heard a song playing in the background that really grabbed my attention. I completely ignored what was going on in the video to pay attention to the rhythms and notes of the music. I replayed it multiple times, just for the music itself, but the entire track was not included. This led me to go on a scavenger hunt to find the name of the song. Since I didn’t have my phone on me at the time, I couldn’t “cheat” and use a song-identifier application. So, in the end, I spent an entire hour just looking for a song. There are few things that give me such a drive to go out and spend a good amount of time doing something, but music interest is definitely one of them.

I believe that human interest in music can definitely give us insight into what creates happiness, and how we can use that to our advantage. Human nature revolves around the eternal quest for happiness and satisfaction, and so studies in such areas could be just as important as studies such as medicine and economics.

Leave a Reply

