Veni, Vidi, Vici: Gone Girl

“I came, I saw, I conquered” – Julius Caesar.

Never before has a quote perfectly captured how I’ve felt recently about the way I interact with some of my favorite activities: watching movies and listening to music. Both of these can be done passively, in the background, with another task at hand. However, to truly experience a movie or a song is to set aside time for it (I came), completely immerse yourself into it (I saw), and take away something meaningful (I conquered). To explain my experience with this process, I will highlight people or things which have left an impact on me in one way or another, starting with the movie Gone Girl.

Photo ©2008 by bareform [CC BY-NC-SA 2.0]

Photo ©2008 by bareform [CC BY-NC-SA 2.0] Beyerdynamic DT 770s, my favorite way to immerse myself into the world of movies and music.

GONE BABY GONE

Spoilers will follow –

3215777143_24c79e24f4_o

Photo ©2008 by Erin Lassahn [CC BY-SA 2.0] Ben Affleck plays a disheveled husband struggling to find the reason for his wife’s mysterious disappearance in Gone Girl.

Gone Girl, David Fincher’s new film, revolves around a man’s struggle with the disappearance of his wife on the day of their anniversary. Not having seen many of David Fincher’s old films but hearing only good reviews of the Gone Girl, I had mixed expectations. To settle my qualms, I decided to watch the movie over the weekend and experience sentiments only films could provide.

As I entered the theater, the nostalgic smell of stale popcorn and Coke filled my nostrils, almost overpowering. Due to the film’s popularity, most of the nicer, farther seats were filled, so I had to settle with the “front row” ones. The movie began, with its eerily, mesmerizingly-slow soundtrack and beautiful cinematography. From the moment the beginning titles appeared to the rolling of the end credits, my eyes were glued to the screen. The movie captivated me so well I did not bother sipping my drink or going to the bathroom. For a whole 2 hours and 29 minutes, I was engrossed in David Fincher’s fictional world.

From watching the film, I learned the fragility of relationships between people and the power of the media on the public. To see the increasing apathy between the main character and his wife was eye-opening to me. Every couple, no matter how “perfect” they appear, have the chance of degrading into detachment and dispassion. Taking advantage of this situation, the wife faked her own death and framed her husband as a way to avenge the emotional pain he caused her. In the end, the husband and wife grudgingly reunite and decide to brokenly continue living together due to the expectance of a child, Although they agreed to disagree, that bond they once shared so strongly was severed by the machete that was their poor decisions and replaced by a tenuous string.

However, more disturbing than the evil brought from relationships between people was the portrayal of the influence of media. In the film, both the wife and husband use the media to convince the public to their “side” of the story: the wife’s “My husband is a sociopath and murderer” and the husband’s “I did not do it, but I admit to my wrongs which have caused the disappearance of my manipulative wife.” With one newscast to another, the community was swayed so easily it made me question how much deceit we accept from our own media, often sensationalized and one-sided. Both the betrayal of husband and wife and the media’s influence in Gone Girl have caused me to be more skeptical as a whole of those around me and their true intentions.

Veni, vidi, vici. I came, I saw, I conquered. That is my experience with Gone Girl described in three words. And despite this post’s complexity, those three words could’ve been all I used.

One thought on “Veni, Vidi, Vici: Gone Girl

  1. Pingback: Veni, Vidi, Vici: The Raid 2 & 13 Ghosts II |

Leave a Reply

